Random thoughts on life and organization

This blog post is not about the cereal line produced by Quaker, so if that is what you were expecting from the title, not only are you going to be disappointed, you are also a little weird.

This post is generic thoughts about life, thoughts that may or may not make sense. If you were expecting this post to make sense, than you may or may not be disappointed. If you were expecting it to not make sense, you are a little weird, or you know me in real life, which probably means you are a little weird.

With that poor excuse for an introduction over with, let us talk about life, or something like that.

I consider myself a relatively organized person. Other people people tell me I am an extremely organized person, and some people tell me I’m not organized enough. I believe them all, because ‘organized’ is a descriptor completely subjective to personal and situational context.

See, I enjoy organization. And I’ve been told I’m good at it by some people, (see above, if you have a short attention span and/or are simply skimming this post) It’s the way God made me, and I see it as one of the ways I work to fulfill the dominion mandate. Taking chaos and turning it to order is something that makes me happy, and often makes my Mother happy, especially when it involves mopping the floor.

So I like organization. (have I mentioned that yet?) Sometimes, however, I get confused, and think this is synonymous with the hatred of disorganization. Not to say one is not often paired to the other, but they are not perpetually linked. There is certain tendency among order-loving people that I’ve noticed, (and this includes me) that when it comes to unexpected circumstances that cause ripples of chaos, we tend to react, well, badly, to be generic.

Some get angry. Some just freeze. Others probably do other things. But I’m not here to talk about the reaction, but the cause. Keep in mind I’m not an expert, whatever that means, these are just random thoughts that are running through my head, in the form of questions, because I like questions, because they help in organization, which makes me happy.

If organization is the bringing order to chaos, why does this chaos faze us so? Is it possible that we are only bringing order to the already orderly if we don’t know how to handle chaos? Or maybe we don’t know how to deal with the chaos that is simply out our hands? Did we become organized because we fear chaos that which is out of our hands? Or maybe even fearful of chaos in general?

I would not be surprised the is some mix of the concepts introduced in the questions.

~Toby

Leave a comment